Skip to content

Where Are The Beatitudes In The Bible

Where Are The Beatitudes In The Bible

The Beatitudes are eight blessings recounted by Jesus in the Sermon on the Mount in the Gospel of Matthew. Each is a proverb-like proclamation, without narrative. Four of the blessings also appear in the Sermon on the Plain in the Gospel of Luke, followed by four woes which mirror the blessings. The term beatitude comes from the Latin noun beātitūdō which means “happiness”. In the Vulgate, the book of Matthew titles this section “beatitudines”, and so “Beatitudes” is also used as the title of this section of Scripture, and is found as such in many recent Catholic Bibles.

In Christianity

A single Bible passage includes more than one Beatitude, but each is accompanied by an antithesis (woe) in Matthew 5:3–12 during Jesus’s Sermon on the Mount, which Bible scholars have interpreted to mean that each one can be interpreted as having both an inward and outward focus. “They present a challenge to live a godly life.”

Other uses

You can find them all in Matthew 5:3-12

Join the conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *