Skip to content

Books Removed From The Bible Pdf

Books Removed From The Bible Pdf

The Bible is the most widely-read book in history. The Bible is also a collection of 66 books (and letters) written by 40 authors over a period of 1500 years. Since its original writing, this book has been translated into hundreds of languages and spread across the globe. Because it’s such an important part of our lives, we want to know which books are included in the Bible, but what about those that aren’t? What does that mean for our faith? In this post, we’ll explore what happened to those excluded books and why they weren’t included in scripture.

An Overview of the Canon of the New Testament

The Canon of the New Testament is the collection of books considered to be authoritative by the Christian Church. The canon was formed over a period of time, and it did not happen overnight. It began as early as within ten years after Jesus’ death when his followers began writing about him. However, this process took centuries to complete, and it was not until the fourth century that all 27 books in our modern Bible were accepted by all Christians everywhere (with some minor exceptions).

It’s important to note that that there were no official Church Councils until Nicea in 325 CE; before that point there were only local councils meeting at various places throughout Christendom. Even then there wasn’t an official list produced until 382 CE when Pope Damasus commissioned Jerome (who translated most of our current Latin Bible) to produce one for use in Rome itself!

The History of the New Testament Text

You should understand that there are no original manuscripts of the New Testament, nor are there any originals or autographs. There is no single text that we can say “this is what it says.” What we have available to us today is a great number of copies, both handwritten and printed. The fact that they all agree with each other shows that they all go back to one original text (which is no longer extant).

The Canon debate.

The canon of the Bible is the set of books that are accepted as the inspired Word of God. It was not decided in one council, but over a period of time by the early church.

Books not included in the Bible.

  • The Books of the Apocrypha
  • The Books of the Gnostic Gospels
  • The Books of the Old Testament Pseudepigrapha
  • The Books of the New Testament Pseudepigrapha
  • The Books of the Dead Sea Scrolls

The books of the Bible are included because they were inspired by God.

The books of the Bible are included because they were inspired by God. The authors of these books wrote them under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit and as such they are inerrant, infallible, and authoritative (2 Tim 3:16). The Bible is not an anthology or a collection of religious writings but rather a single book composed of 66 different works that were written over a period of 1500 years by 40 different men from all walks of life (from kings to fishermen to prophets). The writers lived in three different continents; Asia Minor, Africa, and Europe. They wrote their respective works during vastly different historical periods; from Moses’ writings around 1450 B.C., Job’s around 2500 B.C., Isaiah’s around 700 B.C., Jesus’ teachings while on earth A.D., Peter’s letters A.D., John’s Gospel A.D..

From the history of the canon of the New Testament to its contents, we can see that God has used men and women throughout time to preserve his word so that we may have it today. The Bible is a sacred text that has been preserved by God from before creation until now. It is our duty as Christians to read, study and obey it!

Join the conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *