Skip to content

Books New Testament Chronological Order

Books New Testament Chronological Order

The New Testament, or the 27 books of the Christian Bible that were written after Jesus Christ’s death, is often organized chronologically. The first four books of the New Testament—Matthew, Mark, Luke and John—are referred to as the Gospels because they tell us about Jesus’ life and ministry. After those four books come Acts (which tells the story of how Christianity spread beyond Jerusalem), then Paul’s letters (which were written to various churches he founded).

Gospels: Matthew, Mark, Luke and John

The four Gospels are Matthew, Mark, Luke and John. These books are the first of the 27 books of the New Testament and they tell the story of Jesus Christ. These books were written by Matthew (1st century), Mark (1st century), Luke (2nd century) and John (2nd century).


The Book of Acts is the second book of the New Testament. It is an exciting account of how Christ’s followers continued to spread their message after His ascension. This book is also known as The Acts of the Apostles and covers a period from approximately 30 AD to 62 AD.

The book begins with an introduction by Saint Luke who describes his own role in writing it: “Luke, beloved physician, greets you.” (Acts 1:1). He then goes on to describe how God used him (and others) as His instruments in bringing about great things through Jesus Christ. In fact, Saint Luke writes that he wants everyone who reads this account “to know how abundant are God’s mercies.”

Galatians through 2 Thessalonians

Galatians was written around 49 AD. It was likely sent to the churches in Galatia, who were under threat from false teachers who had come from Judea. The book of 2 Thessalonians was written by Paul a few years later (most likely 54 AD).

2 Thessalonians 2:1-3 says that “the day of Christ will not come unless there is first a rebellion against God and his plan for the world”. This gives us an approximate date for when it was written: after the events recorded in Acts 28 and before 1 Timothy 6:14-16, which mentions people being seduced into following strange doctrines about Jesus’ return or resurrection (these events may have taken place before or after this passage).

1 Timothy through Titus

1 Timothy through Titus

Paul wrote these three letters to Timothy and Titus during his second missionary journey. These books are typically connected by their subject matter, as they deal with church leadership and organization. Also of note is that 1 Timothy was written from Ephesus and 2 Timothy was written from Nicopolis as Paul was en route to Rome for his martyrdom (1:12; 2:11).

The books of 1 & 2 Timothy were likely written in the early 60s CE, around 63 or 64 CE. The letter to Titus may have been either before or after these two epistles, with some scholars arguing against an early date due to an apparent lack of concern about false teachers in Crete.[2]

Hebrews through Jude

The New Testament is made up of 27 books, 24 of which are included in the Catholic and Eastern Orthodox Bibles. The other three are known as deuterocanonical or apocryphal books. These extra scriptures were found among the Dead Sea Scrolls and were included in some early editions of the Bible to give us a more complete understanding of early Christianity but were later removed from most modern versions due to doctrinal disagreements. Most Protestants do not consider these additional texts to be scripture but instead say they’re helpful theological works written during that time period.


Revelation is the last book of the Bible. It was written by John, and it was written to the seven churches of Asia Minor (modern-day Turkey). The book consists of a series of letters from Jesus Christ to these seven churches. These letters encourage Christians to remain faithful in their beliefs and practices despite persecution from their enemies.

The New Testament consists of 27 books.

The New Testament consists of 27 books. It is divided into two parts: the Gospels (books written about Jesus) and Acts (the book that tells us about the spread of Christianity after Jesus’ death), followed by twenty-one letters from Paul, James, Peter and others.

The books of the New Testament are arranged in the order in which they were written.

In conclusion, the New Testament comprises 27 books and can be divided into different sections. It is important to understand this order because it helps us read the Bible in chronological order.

Join the conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *