Gospel Readings and Teachings

What Are The 7 Deadly Sins In The Bible

What Are The 7 Deadly Sins In The Bible

After many years of studying theology, I’ve come to the conclusion that there are only 7 sins in the Bible. This may not be news to you, but it is an important step in understanding these sins and how they apply to our lives.


Pride is the sin of thinking too highly of oneself or thinking you are better than others. Pride is also the sin of thinking you are better than God.

In this post, we will look at what pride is and how it can be avoided.


Greed is the desire to acquire more, and it’s considered a sin. This is because greed can lead to other sins like gluttony and envy. Greed is also mentioned in multiple places in the Bible as one of the seven deadly sins that lead people away from God.

  • 1 Timothy 6:10—For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil. Some people, eager for money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs.
  • Matthew 13:22-23—As they were listening to this story, Jesus was teaching them; he said: To what shall I compare this kingdom? It is like a mustard seed which a man took and planted in his field; it grew and became a large bush; birds of heaven built nests in its branches!


Lust is an inordinate desire for the pleasures of the body. It has been defined as a desire for something that is not yours (your neighbor’s wife) and not good for you (the prostitute). Some argue that lust is an outgrowth of gluttony, since both are excessive desires; others see them as parallel sins since they lead one to sin by compromising one’s faithfulness to God.

Lust will cause you to commit adultery, lie, cheat on your spouse or partner, steal from God or others so that you can get what you want.


In the Bible, gluttony is defined as “excessive or unrestrained consumption of food.” The sin of gluttony includes any behavior that goes against what we’re supposed to eat. The most famous example is the story of Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden. They were told not to eat from the Tree of Knowledge because it would give them knowledge and make them like God—but when tempted by a serpent, they ate anyway.

What does this mean for us? Well, it means that if you have too much knowledge about everything (like knowing too many things about one specific subject), then you’re just going to get yourself into trouble! You need some balance in life—and balance isn’t easy when everyone around you has a different opinion about how healthy eating should be done.


Wrath is the desire to harm others. Wrath is a sin because it’s a reaction to evil, not just in others but in ourselves. The Bible tells us that “no one who practices sin belongs to God.” (1 John 3:8)

Wrath is also a rejection of God’s mercy and justice, which are at the heart of His character and ways.

God is never wrathful or vengeful like humans can be; He always acts with justice, truthfulness and goodness toward everyone—even those who don’t deserve His mercy. But when we act out of anger or hatred toward someone else, we’re saying there’s no reason for them to be loved by God either. We’re saying there’s no point in forgiving them when we could just as easily punish them ourselves instead!

As Christians we know that God forgives us no matter how many times we mess up or sin against Him (or others), but this doesn’t mean that sin itself isn’t something bad or wrong–only God knows how each person feels about themselves after doing something wrong against him/herself or another person(s).


Sloth is the avoidance of physical or mental exertion. The word sloth is derived from the Latin word “sloth” which means laziness. It can be a form of laziness, but it’s not always about being lazy. Slothfulness is also associated with spiritual apathy, but there are many other forms of slothful behavior that don’t necessarily have anything to do with your mood or attitude toward life—they’re just things you don’t do that could be beneficial for your health and well-being.

Sloth is the opposite of diligence (hard work), industry (working hard), activity, hustle (being busy).


Envy is the desire for what someone else has. Envy is a sin because it leads to hatred and anger, but it is also a sin because it is not the right way to be. Envy distorts your thinking and makes you unhappy with your life, which means that your focus becomes on what other people have instead of what you should be doing with your own life.

The message of envy comes through loud and clear in the Bible: Jesus tells us that if we follow him, we will have all sorts of blessings in our lives (Matthew 7:7-12). However, if we try to get these blessings by following the world’s standards instead of God’s standards, then we will only suffer terrible consequences in our lives (Matthew 7:13-14).

The 7 Deadly Sins Are Pride, Greed, Lust, Gluttony, Wrath, Sloth and Envy

The seven deadly sins are pride, greed, lust, gluttony, wrath, sloth and envy. These are the sins that led to the fall of man as well as a life of sin for those who practice them.

A person who commits these sins will lead a life of misery and unhappiness because God does not approve of them.

The seven deadly sins are a list of dangerous behaviors that have been part of human culture for thousands of years. While there are many interpretations of the list, it is often presented as a set of rules that people should follow in order to live a good life. The Bible includes warnings about these sins and describes their consequences (death or an eternity in hell).

Leave a Reply

Back to top button